The College of Optometrists: New members of College Council announced

28 January 2016
Source: The College of Optometrists

The College of Optometrists has announced the newest members of its Council. Aleksandra Mankowska (MCOptom) has been elected a College Council member for the Yorkshire and Humber region, Andrew McGregor (MCOptom) will represent the North East, Paul Carroll (MCOptom) will join as a Council member for the North West and Priya Jayaprakash (MCOptom) will represent College members in the London region.

The election process, which was run entirely online for the first time, also saw several existing Council members being re-elected, including:

  • Jane Macnaughton (FCOptom) for the East Midlands
  • Professor Peter Allen (FCOptom) and Parminder Randhawa (MCOptom) for the Eastern region
  • Dr Gillian Rudduck (MCOptom) for the North West
  • Dr Kamlesh Chauhan (MCOptom) and Rasmeet Chadha (MCOptom) for the South East
  • Hal Rollason (FCOptom) for Scotland
  • Sarah Farrant (MCOptom) and Kiki Soteri (MCOptom) for the South West
  • Sheetal Patel (MCOptom) for the London region.

New Council member, Andrew McGregor, said; “I’m delighted to represent my region on the College’s Council. I’m looking forward to taking a role amongst the team and taking the opportunity to shape the future direction of the College. I will do my best to be a critical friend for the College and feed back the view from the ‘coalface’ to ensure that recommendations are practical in everyday practice.”

David Parkins, President of the College of Optometrists, said: “I would like to congratulate all the successful candidates and I look forward to welcoming them on to College Council. Council members are ambassadors for the profession; they bring members’ views directly to the College, which is hugely valuable to us, and provide leadership for the profession and represent the views of their colleagues in their region.

“I would also like to thank and recognise all the outgoing Council members for their enormous contribution over the years, namely Cindy Tromans, who will remain as Chair of the Board of Trustees, Sarah Townsend, Omar Hassan and Kavi Kotecha.”

Election to College Council gives College members and fellows the opportunity to represent colleagues, promote their profession and help shape the future of optometry. The Council is responsible for determining the strategic and professional direction of the College.

The new Council members will begin their terms after the College of Optometrists AGM which is held on 14 March 2016 as part of its annual conference, Optometry Tomorrow.

Members can contact their regional Council member via the College website at:

Related Posts